Photo by Amber Green

David A. Robertson

David A. Robertson is the author of numerous books for young readers, including When We Were Alone and On the Trapline (both illustrated by Julie Flett), both of which won Governor General’s Literary Award and was nominated for the TD Canadian Children’s Literature Award. He is also the author an acclaimed and bestselling middle-grade fantasy series called The Misewa Saga, as well as the graphic novel Reckoner series, and the adult memoir Black WaterThe Barren Grounds (first in the Misewa Saga) was a Kirkus and Quill & Quire best middle-grade book of 2020, as well as a USBBY and Texas Lone Star selection, and was shortlisted for the Silver Birch Fiction Award (as was the follow-up, The Great Bear) and the TD Canadian Children’s Literature Award. In 2022, he releases the third book in The Misewa Saga, The Stone Child, and his first work of adult fiction, The Theory of Crows. A sought-after speaker and educator, Dave is a member of the Norway House Cree Nation and currently lives in Winnipeg.

The Stone Child
Published by
Puffin Canada

After discovering a near-lifeless Eli at the base of the Great Tree, Morgan knows she doesn’t have much time to save him. And it will mean asking for help — from friends old and new. Racing against the clock, and with Arik and Emily at her side, Morgan sets off to follow the trail away from the Great Tree to find Eli’s soul before it’s too late. As they journey deep into the northern woods, a place they’ve been warned never to enter, they face strange and terrifying new dangers in this third book in the award-winning, Narnia-inspired Indigenous middle-grade fantasy series.

Scroll to Top