EMWF In Your Own Backyard: Online Event Series

All events are free. Please register for events by clicking on the black buttons below. After registering, you will receive instructions by email regarding how to access the event on Zoom.

All featured books are available for sale at The Bookshelf in Guelph, our bookselling partner. Orders can be made online at bookshelf.ca or by phone 519-821-3311 x1.

More events will be added to our series over the coming months!





UPCOMING EVENTS

Image

Thursday April 15, 8:00 - 9:00 p.m. EST (online)
EMWF Book Club: Return of the Trickster

Presented in partnership with: Idea Exchange

Presenters: Eden Robinson, Return of the Trickster
Host: Rosanna Deerchild, host of CBC’s Unreserved

Sign up for the EMWF Book Club and enjoy conversation with fellow readers in the lead up to our main event: a live discussion between bestselling author Eden Robinson, and CBC’s Rosanna Deerchild. Registered book club members can submit their questions for Eden ahead of time for a chance to ask them during the event!

This event includes closed captioning.

Find more information about the event HERE.

Register
If you are in a position to give, please consider contributing to our 2021 fundraising campaign. If you have already contributed, thank you.

Donate Today

Image

April 25, 3:00 - 4:00 p.m. EST, 12:00 - 1:00 p.m. PST (online)
Book Launch: The Only Way is the Steady Way

Presented in partnership with Invisible Publishing, The Bookshelf (Guelph), Glass Bookshop (Edmonton), Shelf Life Books (Calgary), Munro's Books (Victoria), Ben McNally Books (Toronto) and Real Vancouver Writing Series.

Author: Andrew Forbes
Host: Sean Cranbury

Spring training has started! Please join us for a live conversation between Andrew Forbes and Sean Cranbury as they discuss the legendary career of Ichiro Suzuki, the soul of fandom, and how a summertime distraction can help to make sense of the world during a global pandemic.

Find more information about the event HERE.

Register




PAST EVENTS

Image

Thursday April 8, 8:00 - 9:00 p.m. EST (online)
EMWF Showcase: National Poetry Month Celebration

Presented in partnership with The League of Canadian Poets

Presenters: Roxanna Bennett (The Untranslatable I), Selina Boan (Undoing Hours), Leanne Dunic (One and Half of You), Therese Estacion (Phantompains), Louise B. Halfe (awâsis — kinky and dishevelled), Steven Heighton (Selected Poems: 1983-2020), Dallas Hunt (Creeland), Larissa Lai (Iron Goddess of Mercy), Grace Lau (The Language We Were Never Taught to Speak), Jen Sookfong Lee (The Shadow List), Garry Thomas Morse (Scofflaw), Ken Norris (South China Sea), Arleen Paré (First), Rebecca Salazar (sulphurtongue), Ian Williams (Word Problems)

In celebration of National Poetry Month, we’ve curated a showcase featuring some of the most dynamic poetry to be published in Canada this year. Take a break from pandemic life and join these poets on a journey that will explore the depth and breadth of the human experience. Grab your favourite beverage, pull up a chair and enjoy the ride. 

Find more information about the event HERE.

This event will be presented on Facebook Live. Please note that you do not need a Facebook account to watch the event.

Watch on Facebook

Image

Tuesday, March 2, 8 p.m. EST / 5 p.m. PST / 6 p.m. MST / 7 p.m. CST / 9 p.m. AST (online)
Official online book launch of How to Fail as a Popstar by Vivek Shraya
Vivek Shraya in conversation with Bif Naked 

Hosted by the Eden Mills Writers’ Festival and Arsenal Pulp Press in partnership with the Hillside Festival, The Bookshelf (Guelph), Another Story Bookshop (Toronto), Glass Bookshop (Edmonton), Massy Books (Vancouver) and Shelf Life Books (Calgary).

Join us for the launch of the first play by multi-media artist Vivek Shraya, about fame and personal transformation.

Join the event via Facebook Live on the EMWF Facebook page.

Find more information about the event HERE.

Watch on Facebook