Mireille Messier

Mireille Messier is a Montreal-born, Ottawa-raised and now Toronto-based author, freelance writer and voice-over artist. She has published over twenty children’s books–including The Branch, which was nominated for a Governor General’s Award–several articles for youth magazines and has collaborated in the production of many family programs and interactive apps for CBC, TVO/TFO and Teletoon. Mireille enjoys reading graphic novels, swing music and, of course, goats.

On Festival Sunday, Mireille Messier will be presenting from 3:15-3:45 at Jenny’s Place.

Sergeant Billy

Illustrated by Kass Reich

A delightful tale inspired by the true story of a brave goat war hero. Perfect for fans of Finding Winnie and Rescue and Jessica. 

During World War I, a goat named Billy was adopted by a platoon of soldiers and made his way across the ocean to be part of the war effort.
Billy . . .

  • Trained with the soldiers
  • Was smuggled across the ocean
  • Got snuck into the frontlines in a box of oranges
  • Ate some secret documents and was arrested for treason
  • Got trench foot
  • Head-butted soldiers into a trench and saved them from a shell
  • Came back home a decorated war hero

This charming true story follows Sergeant Billy from his small prairie town to the trenches of World War I and back, through harrowing moments, sad moments, moments of camaraderie and moments of celebration. This unforgettable goat and the platoon that loved him will capture your heart!

Treasure

Illustrated by Irene Luxbacher

When two siblings go on a treasure hunt, they aren’t sure exactly what kind of treasure they are looking for. What they do know is that treasures are shiny, mysterious and precious. And that all the really good treasures are hidden!

As they explore the forest, the little brother finds objects he thinks could be treasures: a feather, an acorn, a milkweed pod. But his sister is not easily impressed. As they travel, he starts to doubt his sister, but their curiosity pays off when they find the biggest, shiniest, most mysterious and precious treasure hidden just over a hill.

Told exclusively in dialogue, the story encourages readers to look for the small, everyday treasures that surround us. This beautifully illustrated picture book exudes a sense of wonder at the natural world and emphasizes the magical qualities of looking through a child’s eye.

Also available in French as Trésor, translated by the author, Mireille Messier.